UK gets 50Mbps broadband service

The place for what's new and going on in the tech, innovation, and science world.

UK gets 50Mbps broadband service

Postby Egaladeist » Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:57 am

Virgin Media has launched a 50Mbps cable broadband service in the UK. The service costs £51-per-month (approx AU$117) and, according to Virgin, will be available to all of its 12 million customers towards the end of 2009. Virgin Media's previous top speed was 20Mbps.

http://www.zdnet.com.au/news/communicat ... mnRef=1337
User avatar
Egaladeist
I am the Eg man : Coo Coo Ca Choo
 
Posts: 18798
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 1:02 am
Location: Canada

Re: UK gets 50Mbps broadband service

Postby SirDice » Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:07 pm

Hmm.. Virgin media... Better not try to share some movies on that connection :mrgreen:

To be honest.. I've now got 20Mbps ADSL but I'd settle for 10Mbit if I can have it full duplex 8)
Oliver's Law:
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
User avatar
SirDice
I've posted HOW many
 
Posts: 4199
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: UK gets 50Mbps broadband service

Postby Aspman » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:07 am

Bah it'll be years before that makes it out to the sticks.

Virgin media doesn't have the best of reputations either.
"Man will never be free until the last king is strangled with the entrails of the last priest."
- Denis Diderot (1713-1784)
User avatar
Aspman
Frustrated Mad Scientist
 
Posts: 8871
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 10:07 am
Location: Scotland

Re: UK gets 50Mbps broadband service

Postby Vorlin » Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:59 pm

That's kinda like around here...Comcast is the only one that provides internet, cable, and digital voice way out here in Edgefield where I live. My dad's been wanting to switch off of comcast because when we first got in, we got the triple package for $33 for each one...after a year, that skyrocketed and my mom and dad's cable bill turned into something like $180 and we don't even have high-end cable. DSL won't reach out here because it's owned by AT&T and they don't service this area and the only other company (Knology) only services Augusta since they're a small group. Blah...I'd actually go for dish if too many things didn't hamper it.
In the world of protection, one thing is for sure: security = 1 / convenience.
User avatar
Vorlin
Taz's very own Fireman [RIP]
 
Posts: 2378
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:48 pm
Location: N. Augusta, SC


Return to Tech News Zone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests

cron