Page 1 of 1

F**K me gently with a Chain Saw

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:58 pm
by dinowuff
@#@!!%#% HP ProCurve Switches. "tagged, untagged, no, continuous". For F**k's Sake what's wrong with “switchport mode trunk”? Why can I only perform certain tasks in the console and not in the web interface? Why am I prompted for the F**KING password every OTHER time I hit enter? I haven't left the session yet! Why is it that it that I spent three days to set up one stinking vLan?

What kind of God D***, F***ing, Son of a B*th, C**k Sucking, Piss drinking, piece of left over hermaphrodite bile crap is this?

Fox - The bar better be open and stocked!

Re: F**K me gently with a Chain Saw

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:47 am
by dinowuff
Oh - Never mind. It's just untagged on the specified vLan. My bad!

Re: F**K me gently with a Chain Saw

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:33 pm
by SirDice
A trunk is a Cisco naming. Trunks on Procurve are LACP aka bundling. For HP Procurve you have to use 'tagged' to get VLAN 802.1q tagged traffic. The easiest to change that is on the Procurve console, type the command "menu". From the menu, 2 Switch Configuration -> 7 VLAN menu -> VLAN port assignment.

I have an HP Procurve 2510G-24. I replaced a couple of those with newer versions during a project not too long ago. And the guy asked if I wanted one of the old ones. So now I have a managed 24 port gigabit switch at home. It was a noisy bugger but I replaced the two fans with a couple of silent ones. The switch complains about it (they don't spin as fast as the originals) but it works, it stays cool enough and best of all, it's very, very quiet :)

Re: F**K me gently with a Chain Saw

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:59 pm
by DaFoxx
Jeez
thought I was in the drunk rant thread at first :mrgreen:
at least the bar is saved :P